Child Protection

When to Report
Minnesota Statute 260E.06 requires mandated reporters to make a report if they know of, or have reason to believe a child is being neglected or abused, or has been neglected or abused within the preceding three years. Verbal reports must be made immediately (no longer than 24 hours). A verbal report by a mandated reporter must be followed within 72 hours, excluding holidays and weekends, by a written report of alleged maltreatment.

Verbal Report
Written Report
If a child is in immediate danger, or to request an immediate welfare check,
call 9-1-1 or your local police department. 

To verbally report suspected abuse or neglect of a child, call 651-430-6457.
Calls during the evening, weekend,
or holidays should be made to the Washington County Crisis Response
Unit at 651-275-7400.

Please fill out and submit the following form: Referral of Suspected Child Abuse or Neglect

Submissions lacking identifying information may result in a report not being accepted.

Child protection intake screeners, in partnership with the screening team, review and accept reports of alleged child maltreatment based on DHS Minnesota Child Maltreatment Intake, Screening, and Response Path Guidelines.

  1. Mandated Reporting
  2. Definitions
  3. Family Assessments
  4. Parenting Tips

Minnesota Mandated Reporting 

Under Minnesota Statute 260E.06, persons in designated professional occupations are mandated to report suspected child abuse or neglect.

Persons who work with children and families are in a position to help protect children from harm. These persons are required by law to report to child protection if they know or have a reason to believe that a child is being abused or neglected or that a child has been neglected or abused within the prior three years.

The individual with direct knowledge of possible child abuse or neglect is individually responsible to report to the police or child protection. Reporting the concern to a supervisor, administrator, or other coworkers does not mitigate your responsibility to report.

The reporter's name is confidential, accessible only if the reporter consents or by a court order. You can find more information about mandated reporting in the Resource Guide for Mandated Reporters.

Examples of mandated reporters:
  • Child Care:  Babysitters, child care center staff, home child care providers
  • Clergy
  • Corrections Management and Staff
  • Education:  School administrators, support staff, teachers, assistants
  • Guardian Ad Litem
  • Health Care Professionals:  Dental professionals, hospital staff, medical professionals and personnel
  • Law Enforcement
  • Mental Health Professionals:  Psychiatrists, psychologists, therapists/counselors
  • Probation Officers
  • Social Services:  Foster parents, group home staff, social workers


Training 

Reporting Child Maltreatment (Abuse & Neglect) Training for Mandated Reporters
This free training is designed for mandated reporters or others to learn more about requirements for reporting child abuse and neglect in Washington County. 

Topics covered:
  • Maltreatment Definitions
  • Mandated Reporter Responsibilities
  • How to Make a Report
  • What Happens After a Report is Made
  • Services Available to Children and Families
  • Questions and Answers Opportunity

video training series is also available through the Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS). This does not take the place of an in-person training.

*Access the packet forms before the training.

Date
Time
Location
Thursday
December 16

9-10:30 a.m.
Online

*Agencies within Washington County with large groups needing this training can contact Kelsey to request additional training sessions.

All training is provided by Washington County Child Protection staff and will be held virtually because of COVID-19. Contact Kelsey Whitcomb with questions at 651-430-6529 or via email.

Registration:
You must register via email in order to attend the online training so we can email you the meeting link.

Failure to Report 

If a mandated reporter does not report suspected abuse or neglect, they could be prosecuted for committing a misdemeanor. If a child suffers substantial or great bodily harm as a result of not receiving needed treatment for the abuse or neglect because of a failure to report, it is a gross misdemeanor. If the child dies as a result, it is a felony.