Regulation of Tobacco Sales

Announcement icon no text

Tobacco Ordinance Update

Washington County is proposing changes to County Ordinance #185 (Youth Access to Tobacco). Minnesota Statutes § 461 sets the local retail tobacco regulations across Minnesota. This law was changed in 2020 and is already in effect throughout the state. The statute changes included raising the minimum age of tobacco purchases to 21 years of age and increased the administrative fine amounts for retail tobacco violations. Please note, this ordinance only applies in jurisdictions that do not have their own tobacco licensing programs.

The proposed changes to the Washington County ordinance will: 

  1. Update the ordinance language so the statute changes are reflected.
  2. Increase the minimum tobacco salesclerk age to 18 years old.
  3. Increase the minimum license suspension timeframe for repeated violations.

A copy of the proposed ordinance is available for public review (PDF)

If you have comments or questions, please send an email to Caleb Johnson  or call 651-430-6680.

Information about the official public hearing related to these proposed changes will be posted to this webpage once the set by the Washington County Board of Commissioners.

The Washington County Public Health and Environment (PHE) Department regulates the sale of tobacco and tobacco products. The Washington County Youth Access to Tobacco Ordinance provides complete information about selling tobacco or tobacco products in the county.

Cities and townships under the department’s jurisdiction include:

Grey Cloud Township
Pine Springs
Baytown Township
Lakeland Shores
St. Mary's Point
Lake Elmo
Stillwater Township
Denmark Township
West Lakeland Township
May Township

Apply for a License

A license from PHE is required to sell tobacco or tobacco products in the cities and townships listed above. 

If your business is not  listed in the cities or townships on this page, contact your city’s City Clerk  for licensing information.

Print and complete the license application (PDF).

Upon receipt of the application and fee, a PHE staff will call you to arrange an appointment for an inspection of your business. You will be issued a license when your tobacco sales business is in compliance with the county ordinance.  

Report a Concern

To report a concern about tobacco sales, go to Report a Concern and submit the information. Your report will be submitted directly to the PHE department for review.