Planning Advisory Commission


The Washington County Planning Advisory Commission has been established by the Washington County Board pursuant to Minnesota Statute 394.30. The responsibility of the Planning Advisory Commission is further defined in the Washington County Development Code, Chapter One, Section 8.

The Planning Advisory Commission is an advisory body to the Washington County Board. They make decisions and/or recommendations to the County Board. Decisions of the Planning Advisory Commission may be appealed to the County Board. The duties and responsibilities of the Planning Advisory Commission, as established by County Ordinance, are:

  • to study, report and make recommendations on amendments to the Development Code and the Comprehensive Plan prior to adoption of any amendments by the County Board.
  • to order the issuance of and amendments to Planned Unit Development Permits and Conditional Use Permits for one (1) or more categories of conditional uses authorized by the Washington County Development Code.
  • to conduct hearings and make recommendations to the County Board on alleged violation of condition(s) contained in Conditional Use Permits.
  • to issue Conditional Use Permits and impose conditions on nonconforming uses and to conduct public hearings thereon.


The Planning Advisory Commission is composed of nine (9) voting citizen members and one (1) non-voting County Commissioner member. Citizen members are appointed by County Commissioner District; a majority of the membership must be residents from outside the corporate limits of a municipality. Each County Commissioner recommends two (2) members from his/her district for appointment; the County Board formally appoints all members.


The Planning Advisory Commission usually meets on the 4th Tuesday of the month at 7 p.m. as needed. Efforts are made to adjourn the meeting by 10 p.m.
Please refer to the calendar for a schedule of all meeting dates.

Meeting Results

Planning Advisory Commission meeting results are reported
in Adobe Acrobat PDF format.

2012-Present Meeting Agendas and Minutes