District 2

Stan Karwoski, Washington County Commissioner

Vice Chair of the County Board

District 2 Commissioner Stan Karwoski

Contact Information

Phone: 651-430-6212
Email Stan Karwoski

Served on County Board since 2016
Term of office expires December 2026

Please use Commissioner Karwoski's booking calendar to request a meeting. 

Request a Meeting Button with text and icon Opens in new window

About Commissioner Karwoski

Commissioner Stan Karwoski was reelected in 2022 and 2018, and first elected to the County Board in a special election in November 2016 to serve District 2.

Commissioner Karwoski was serving his fourth term on the Oakdale City Council when he was elected mayor in 2014. 

Commissioner Karwoski is active in many civic organizations such as the Oakdale, Woodbury, and St. Paul Chambers, and the St. Paul Winter Carnival. He is past president and former member of the (independent school district) 622 Education Foundation. He is past chairman and former member of the Washington County Park and Open Space Commission. He has served with the Yellow Ribbon Network. Also, he served on the city of Oakdale’s planning and park commissions. Additionally, he has volunteered as a student reading mentor and a robotics mentor.

Commissioner Karwoski, a native of St. Paul, has lived in Oakdale since 1987. He is a graduate of Harding High School. He also earned a vocational school Design Degree and a Bachelor’s Degree in Business Administration from Metropolitan State University. Commissioner Karwoski is married, and has four adult children, and five grandchildren. He is a retired 38-year employee of Graco, Inc., where he was a principal designer. He holds nine invention patents.

Commissioner Karwoski serves on several boards and committees.

Washington County committees:

Regional Railroad Authority

Workforce Development Board (WDB)

Workforce Development Board (WDB) - Oversight Action Committee

Regional committees:

Association of Minnesota Counties (AMC) - Transportation Policy Committee

East Metro Strong (Co-Chair)

Gold Line Executive Change Control Board

Gold Line Joint Powers Board

Greater MSP

Metropolitan Emergency Services Board (Alternate)

Metropolitan Transportation Advisory Board

Minnesota Inter-County Association (MICA) (President)

MICA Executive Committee

Ramsey/Washington Recycling & Energy (R&E)Board

Rush Line Corridor Task Force

Washington County - Yellow Ribbon Network (Liaison)